How to Delete Twitter Account (Permanently) – Quick Guide

Twitter is a popular social platform where you can make your voice heard by writing “tweets” or interacting with other users ’tweeted messages.

Contrary to popular belief, you do not need to register an account to use Twitter. Of course, it is possible to visit Twitter as an unregistered user, but you will not be able to post Tweets or interact with existing ones.

But what if you already have a Twitter account and just want to get rid of it? Surely you know that you will not prevent it from being used, and that is difficult to avoid, especially if you have linked personal information to it.

Well, unlike other social platforms, Twitter has not gone out of its way to prevent you from deleting your account. In fact, it’s very easy to do, and we’ve prepared a step-by-step guide to guide you through the process.

How to delete a Twitter accountD.

How to delete a Twitter account

It’s a little tricky to call this process an account deletion, when of course, you just have to turn it off. There may be some confusion as a result of this term being slightly misused.

What really happens is that you make a cancellation request, which you have to prove. After that, there is a 30-day waiting period, after which the removal process actually takes place.

During this 30-day time period, you can log back in to your account and recover by canceling the cancellation process.

Remember, after 30 days, do not delete your account immediately, as it may take an extra week for your account to be completely erased.

With that in mind, here’s how you can effectively deactivate your Twitter account:

Delete Twitter account from your web browser

  1. Go over to Twitter
  2. Log in to your account
  3. Click on the More button
  4. Choose Settings and privacyClick the Settings and Privacy button in the More Twitter menu
  5. Head to the Your account department
  6. Click on the Delete your account buttonProceed to the Your Twitter account section
  7. Read the What else should you know? department
  8. Click on the put off button once more to confirmConfirm your action by clicking the Deactivate button

Note that the steps above also apply to the Windows 10 Twitter app, as the app is just a folder for the Twitter website. Just follow the steps of the web browser inside the Twitter app for Windows 10 to deactivate your account.

Turn off Twitter From the Twitter mobile app

  1. Tap on the hamburger button (the one that looks like three horizontal lines)
  2. go to Settings and privacyOptions and privacy section of the Twitter mobile app
  3. Tap on the Account buttonAccess the account section in the mobile Twitter Options menu
  4. Scroll down to the bottom of the screen
  5. Choose Delete your accountClick Turn off your account button in the mobile Twitter app
  6. Tap on the put off button to confirm your actionTwitter mobile authentication to deactivate your account

And that is all you need to do. Just remember, if you change your mind in up to 30 days after you deactivate your Twitter account, you can stop the process and get your account back in full.

How to remove tweets removed from Google?

At times you may see deleted tweets on Google or even tweets belonging to a deleted Twitter account. However, if we try to reach them they will lead to Twitter “That page does not exist!” error page.

This is because Google (and any other search engine for that matter) kept the search results, and tweets still appear under the search results for a while. Eventually, search engines index updated Twitter information, but they may appear in the search results until then.

On the bright side, there is something you can do to speed up the entire transition process.

  1. Copy the URLs of the tweets you want to remove from the index
  2. Go over to Google’s Remove old-fashioned content tool
  3. Click on the New application buttonRemove old tweets using an old Google data removal tool
  4. Make sure you are on the Page tab
  5. Enter the URL in the specified field
  6. Click on the Enter button

Please note that you may need to sign in to your Google account before you can make a request to remove obsolete content from Google’s index. If the steps above do not work, just log in to your Google account and try again.

How can I download my Twitter data?

If your decision to deactivate your Twitter account is final, you may want to download and restore all of your Twitter account data somewhere safe.

However, keep in mind that you will not be able to download this data after you have deactivated your account, so be sure to request the download before that happens.

  1. Go to Twitter’s data download page
  2. Log in to your Twitter account if needed
  3. Confirm your password by typing it in the specified field
  4. Click the Confirm button
  5. Complete the process by clicking the Request Archive button

Please note, if you have a verified post, you will receive a download link on the email you registered with your Twitter account. Another thing, you will get an in-app notification as soon as the archive is ready to download.

Twitter accounts can be easily turned off

To cover things up, if you’ve previously considered deleting your Twitter account but have given up believing it would be complicated, you’re welcome to try again.

We’ve tried it for ourselves and found that not only deleting your Twitter account is just a walk in the park, but you can also request an archive with your Twitter data while you’re there.

Just make sure you know what you are doing; otherwise, you have no more than 30 days to reverse the process and your Twitter account is about to be deleted.

The post How to delete a Twitter account (permanently) – Quick Guide first appeared on TechtricksNg.

Leave a Comment