Social media can be fun but it’s always helpful to think about who you’re interacting with. Social media may seem like a perfect relationship with complete strangers but you should be careful who you add to your social circle.
If interactions go wrong, most social media platforms have the option to block both people and content producers / channels / accounts. It’s something you can control your head on and it’s effective.
What happens if you block someone on Facebook?
Facebook has a lot of communities, groups, open pages, and that can lead to a lot of unwanted unpleasant conversations that could lead you to your profile, and to your inbox. They can also come from a circle of friends.
Nevertheless, Facebook users always have the option to block someone.
Block someone on Facebook
To block someone on Facebook from the web;
- Visit the user profile.
- Click on the more options button (three-dot button).
- Select Block from the table.
To block someone on Facebook from the iOS or Android app;
- Go to profile tab.
- Tap on it Friends.
- Choose the friend you want to block.
- Tap on the more options button (three-dot button).
- Select a block from the table.
To block a non-friend, move to their profile and then follow the same steps as listed above.
What happens when you block someone on Facebook?
Once you have blocked someone on Facebook,
- You will no longer see what they post, like, or comment on.
- They will no longer be able to see or comment on what you post.
- Your comments will be in groups and on hidden pages, and vice versa.
- Any comments (or other comments) that you have left or have left on their posts / comments / photos will be deleted.
- However, all tags that have been added to photos will be removed, however, images will not be removed.
- All photos you have uploaded and tagged will lose a tag for that person but the image will not be removed.
- If someone is blocking you, you will not be able to send them a friend request.
- If you have been tagged in a post by a friend of each other, the post will be visible to the person who blocked you, however, they will not be able to see that you are tagged in the post.
Facebook vs Messenger
A few years ago, if you blocked someone on Facebook, they were automatically blocked on Messenger too ie, you could no longer exchange two messages. That has changed. Facebook Messenger is now a platform in its own right.
If you want to prevent someone from sending you messages on Facebook Messenger, you need to block them from Facebook Messenger. One can be blocked from the web, and from the mobile apps.
Blocking is something that can be deleted at will ie, if you block someone, you can unblock them later. If you are preventing someone from hiding selected content, you can create custom friend lists for when you post something. If you are concerned that the person you are blocking may try to find your physical address, or try to harm you in others, get the authorities to intervene.
The post What happens if you block someone on Facebook? first appeared on TechtricksNg.